

Clark County Fire & Rescue Board of Fire Commissioners Meeting Minutes

January 25, 2018

Meeting called to order at 4:01 p.m.

Flag salute.

Present: Commissioners Stan Chunn, Bob Johnson, Larry Bartel, Ken Ayers, Dave Lester, Dave Town. Chief John Nohr. Division Chiefs Ben Peeler and Mike Jackson.

CALL FOR LATE AGENDA ADDITIONS

None.

CONSENT AGENDA

Motion by Commissioner Johnson to approve the consent agenda as presented. Second Commissioner Town. Motion passed unanimously.

COMMUNICATIONS

Chief Nohr shared a card from Ms. Betty Lou McKinney of Woodland. Ms. McKinney noticed that CCF&R was installing smoke alarms in her neighborhood and donated \$1,000 for the purchase of additional smoke alarms. DVC Jackson noted that the Clark County Firefighters Association also donated \$1,500 for smoke alarms. Chief Nohr shared a letter from the Washington Survey & Rating Bureau indicating that Charter Oak Station 22 will now be recognized.

CITIZEN COMMENTS

None.

STANDING COMMITTEES

Clark County Risk Management Group

No report. Next meeting scheduled on Wednesday, February 7.

EMS Council

No meeting. No report.

Fairgrounds Fire Facility Board

No report. Next meeting scheduled on Wednesday, March 14.

Finance Committee

No meeting. No report.

RFA Committee

Chief Nohr shared the RCW that allows the RFA planning committee to be dissolved by a vote of the committee. We will wait until more discussions occur with the City of Woodland regarding annexation before moving forward with decisions on the RFA planning committee.

occur with the City of Woodland regarding annexation before moving forward with decisions on the RFA planning committee.

Commissioner Updates

Commissioner Bartel advised he is looking for door prize donations for the March 9 awards social. In addition, he believes invitations should be sent out for the event. Chief Nohr will coordinate with staff.

OLD BUSINESS

Chief Nohr provided a wildland season summary. A total of \$620,609 was invoiced for 7,179 personnel hours. All but \$40 of the amount invoiced was received. The difference is due to improper expenditure documentation for which we will not be reimbursed. Direct costs were \$559,457. Chief Nohr noted that the income pays for staff time to coordinate the billing and staffing management, maintenance on the vehicles, and other indirect costs. Commissioner Bartel asked if there was a way to quantify what projects did not get done while personnel were deployed, for example smoke detector installations. Commissioner Town asked if loss of interest income due to the time lag between deployment payroll and reimbursement could be calculated.

Chief Nohr requested a Finance Committee meeting to review the draft policies on Debt and Finance. The meeting will be held on February 8 at 1500 hours.

LATE ADDITIONS

Chief Nohr presented an updated agreement from CRESA reflecting their change to a Public Development Agency. The change will provide a better form of governance for CRESA and help limit liability for the participating agencies. The Board authorized the chief to sign the agreement.

CITIZEN COMMENTS

None.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

None.

No further discussion. Meeting adjourned at 4:25 p.m.

Attest, John Nohr

Rive Chief/District Secretary



CLARK COUNTY FIRE & RESCUE CONSENT AGENDA January 25, 2018

- 1. Minutes January 11 General Meeting
- 2. Pre-paid Invoices
 - None
- 3. Current Invoices
 - \$ 28,475.53 (CCFR)
 - i. Check Nos. 18196 18223
 - \$ 4,691.15 (FFFB)
 - i. Check Nos. 18193 18195
- 4. Approved Commissioner Stipends Payable January 31

For the Period December 16, 2017 thru January 15, 2017							
	Regular	Committee	RFA	Assn			
Name	Meeting	Meeting	Mtg	Meeting	Educ	Other	Total
Ayers	1						1
Babcock						1	1
Bartel	1						1
Chunn	1						1
Johnson	1	1				1	3
Lester	0						0
Town	0						0

- 5. Payroll Special Check Run (OT)
 - January 17, 2018
 - i. \$1,194.48 Gross
 - ii. \$1,065.88 Payroll Warrant net
 - 1. Check No. 6114
- 6. Voided/Destroyed Claims/Payroll Warrants
 - None

Commissioner Stanley Chunn – Chair

missioner Stanley Chunn – Chair

mmissioner Larry Bartel

Commissioner David Town

Commissioner James R Johnson – Vice Chair

Commissioner Ken Ayers

Commissioner David Lester